ROMANCE
Leave a Comment

Romance

Why do we love romance novels?  As a romance author, what drives me?  What makes romance novels the #1 seller over all books?

My favorite romance author would have to be Joanna Lindsey.  I love stories that are written in bygone days.  Men weren’t the same as they are now.  They were tough because their survival depended upon it.

I can’t speak with certainty on any subject from the days before my time, but I’m pretty sure that a man married his first love.  I find this to be enticing, romantic and alluring.  One man, one woman -for life!  Love really meant something back then.  At least, Joanna Lindsey makes me believe it.  That’s why I love her stories.

I just read the hook for Barbara Freethy’s new book, “If I Didn’t Know Better.”  I think I’m going to give this one a try.  It sounds good!  I’ve always liked romance stories where there is adventure, mystery, water and a soldier.  She’s managed to capture all of these goodies in one book.  I’ll let you know what I think when I’m done.

I believe we read romance novels to discover ourselves.  Odd?  Maybe!  Girls dream of the man who will one-day woe us.  I’m not sure why.  I know I never watched my parents, and wanted what they had.  Mom cleaned house, ironed and cooked.  Daddy worked long days and came home and fixed things.  In the evenings, they would watch TV, just to begin again the next day.  Doesn’t sound romantic does it?

Still, I wanted to be loved by a man who made me shiver.  I dreamed of moments in his arms, the way his lips would feel against mine, and the day we’d be married.  It was wonderful!  Unfortunately, reality sets in with time.  Now, we share our lives much the same as my parents did as I was growing up.

So, despite my husbands romantic nature, I still long for the adventure.  I want to relive our first years over and over.  I can do this reading a romance novel.  It doesn’t matter what the man and woman look like -I see us!

My husband gets the best of both worlds -a sensible wife, (possibly) who tends to the day to day needs of her family, and the enthusiastic wife who has just had her youthful glimmer restored as she sees him, as if, for the first time.  It is within those moments, (after just reading a thrilling scene) that the grey hairs and belly disappear and what stands before me is a man full of masculinity…Love anew!  I can’t wait for the next moment!

I write romance novels to discover all the places and moments I will never share with my husband.  In my books, we can go anywhere, be anyone, and find love fresh and beautiful.

Yes, women discover who they are in a book by learning what we want from life.  When we read, the story becomes a part of us.  Life would become dull if we just settled into our lives and not once dreamed.  I never want to look at my husband and ask, “is this it?”

I guess I’ve found the answer to “why” romance novels are the #1 seller.  We all want to relive the moment…he took our breath away.

This entry was posted in: ROMANCE

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

