irumeur...
Leave a Comment

I Think…

Recently, with the soon to be release of my book, The Living Miracle A Love Story, I’ve been trying to learn everything I can about marketing my book and myself.  So I started following a podcast and blog of a successful entrepreneur who tells you how to accomplish this.

At first, I wasn’t sure this was a good fit for me because I’m trying to market a novel, where he has an actual product that he sells online.  Okay, that sounded dumb!  Let me try it again.  At first, I didn’t think it was a good fit for me because I’m trying to sell a novel, online, and he sells actual products people fill they need.

No, I’ve not lost my mind.  As I thought about all the angles of why I shouldn’t watch his podcast, I came to realize that these were the reasons I should watch them.  I, too, have a product that I will sell online, and I am really hoping that each of you will see a need to buy it.

I’ve learned many things lately, and I hope I’ve learned them well enough that it will make an impact on the sales of my novel.  Still, yesterday, he posted something that disturbed me.  He was carrying on about not being afraid to charge a premium dollar for your product.

He told us how he analyzed a fair and profitable price for his product in the beginning.  When he raised his prices, astoundingly, he sold more and was sought after by a higher status clientage.  Since that day, he has sought the highest prices the market will pay.  This tells me his prices are always going higher.

Don’t misunderstand me, I don’t begrudge this man of making a sizable living.  We all would like to have more money, a more relaxed lifestyle and nicer stuff.  What bothers me is the notion that gouging the country is expected, accepted, and prized by the consumers.

My husband and I have our own computer consulting company, and as a part-time company we make a sizable income.  We are small time and operate alone.  For a period of time, we hired my brother-in-law because our girls were young and needed us around.  In the 15 years we’ve been working, we’ve only increased our per hour pay five times.  We are still paid well below the market standard.  It isn’t because we aren’t good enough.  My husband is one of the best in the field.  Yet, we understand how hard it is becoming for the common household to keep up with the constant fluctuation in product and services.  I guess the big picture is: if we charged more, we would have more client’s, become rich and have others that work our company for us.

We rarely do any work for the common household, but this point still holds true to businesses.  When one company raises their prices, it causes a change reaction that spirals down.  The result –too many businesses get booted out because there just isn’t enough money to go around.  It isn’t that their business isn’t viable, entertaining, worthy.  It’s because people are paying the higher prices of the companies that offer services they want just a tiny bit more –and they’re always stretching your dollar, so they can make more.

That bothers me!  I want to know if it bothers you.  Can we continue this path of using one another for our own gain, while keeping the American work force strong?

I guess we are old school.  You work hard for your customers, assuring that the job is done well, and you get paid handsomely for your work without gouging them.  I think we will stay where we are at, because if we didn’t, I think………I’d have a tough time sleeping at night.

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

