irumeur...
Leave a Comment

I Think….

I’m going to go!  Well, I think I’m going to go.  I’m pretty sure I’m going.  Where, you ask?  New York City. 

Why?

Oh, it’s too silly even to tell you, but I will.  It is a matter of striking out to do something you really want to do, despite it seeming impossible.  If I accomplish this, and don’t die -I will be stronger!

It is time I stopped relying upon others to carry me through.  When I am in doubt, I always have them to lean on.  There is no one to lean on now!  I’ve asked everyone I could think of to attend this event with me, and everyone turned me down.  Sure, their reasons were legit, but it leaves me facing this scary trip alone.

Am I scared?  You bet!  I’m terrified!  The Big Apple is a potentially dangerous place to be a single woman wandering the streets.  Streets that are foreign to my eyes. People that are aliens in nature, compared to myself.

Still, my niece just went to Harvard for a year of extended learning.  She is nearly a day away from home and alone.  How did she, at 20ish find the courage to embark upon such a journey?  Belief in herself!

If I want to convince each of you that I am capable of writing novels that thrill and excite your minds, stirring your hearts, I must believe in myself.  This trip, I hope, will give me that confidence.  Conviction in my strength as a writer, a woman, and as a mother(grandmother).

I would love to hear how each of you fought through yourself-doubt and conquered your fears.  If you don’t mind saying a little prayer for this trembling old woman, I think…I will feel a whole lot better.

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

