irumeur...
Leave a Comment

I Think…

As a world follower, I frequently listen to BBC.  I would love to have the opportunity to follow news stations from every country.  For now, BBC is my best radio option.

Yesterday, they had a segment about a rare sheep farmer.  Or, was it goats?  I wasn’t terribly interested in this news piece, so my mind was wondering, as it often does.  However, I did catch the part about her farm being threatened into bankruptcy.  She said the flock would all be killed, if that happened.

As a person who does what I can to protect the well-being of animals, this snapped my hearing into gear.  The commentator asked the farmer what she intended to do.  She responded that her father always had a saying, “If the goats jump over the fence, build it higher.”

These words encouraged me!  Time often pitches curve balls, when we believe life is coming at us fast.  Maybe, it is a way to slow us down.  Possibly, in order to send that curve ball into the outfield we need to bend, so we think like the farmer, and be a goat.

I had a goat for 12 years.  Lambchop didn’t understand he was a goat, because he lived with horses.  I guess this would be why he never strayed far from home.  The last day I saw him, he was in the pony shed, leaning against the wall.  He was tired of holding himself up.  I guess his wall got to tall.

It is my intention to be both the goat, and the farmer.  I want to live this existence without allowing walls to stop me, as I build a barrier of fortitude, giving me room to breathe, as I move forward.  I think…..I am ready to face the world!

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

