irumeur...
Comments 2

I Think…

“Writers have to swim with the sharks comfortably and easily to survive,” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch at kriswrites.com. 

Kristine tells us that we no longer need an agent or a book doctor to get published.  If we want to survive, we must desire to write. 

My friend is a great writer, with a vocabulary surpassing the average person.  Her only problem is, she doesn’t love seeing her words on paper.  Each time she begins a new book, she can’t wait to read me the first few chapters.

In the beginning, I am frustrated because I know she will never finish it.  By the end of the first chapter, I am intently listening.  Once she is finished, I praise her work and encourage her to continue.  She never writes another word, then she is done until the next idea forms.  This book is already out of her system.

Recently, she told our ghost writing friend that she would finish a book, and then she would have all the money she wanted.  Our friend laughed!

Anyone can write that’s easy.  A writer breathes the words, inhaling and exhaling with each new strike against the keyboard.  They are not just words sharing their conjoined meaning – they are a story, with a life of their own.

Still, we can’t stop there.  We have to step out from behind our computers and offer ourselves over to the possibility of rejection, criticism and failure.  Oh, that I would have lived in the days when Louisa May Alcott wrote Little Women.  Or, possibly Hans Christian Anderson, when he wrote The Red Shoes.  I could place my quill upon my paper as the candlelight burned.  Once my manuscript was completed, I would mail it to the press.  Simple and effective.

Today, you must be a business to write, sell and be read.  Could I go on Shark Tank and convince the investors to promote my book, just as they would the latest exercise program, a new cupcake idea, or a traveling haunted party?  Probably they would want a business plan, and verification of a following.

Wait.  Isn’t that what I have to do anyhow?  Yes, my friend, you do!  So, I must pull myself together and offer my book to the oceans of readers while praying it will survive the waves and avoid the destruction of the shredding and slicing teeth of rejection.

I will, calmly and comfortably swim with ease as I navigate these waters, because, I think…I am a writer!

The Living Miracle A Love Story is nearly here.  When it hits your favorite book store shelves, take a dive with me, and be sure to read it.  Thanks!

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

