ROMANCE
Leave a Comment

Romance

How do we measure love?  A heartbeat?  A moment?  A kiss?

I fall in love every day.  Sometimes, I fall in love as I feel my husband’s hand reach out and touch me, to assure himself I am still there in the night.  Other times, it is when he grabs one of our daughters, hugs them, and kisses their forehead.  Most of the time, I fall in love because I feel how much he loves us.

It is a wonderful feeling to love someone.  To let everything go, and just -love them.

Too often, we get wrapped up in our lives, and forget to love.  I feel this way at times, but then he will do one little thing, like hold my hand, and I know all over again.  I’m in love.

I remember when just his presence caused my heart to pound.  His kisses use to send me deeper into his arms.  His smile once made me giggle with delight.  I miss those moments, which rarely happen now.  However, I wouldn’t trade these years, as we share them together, more deeply in love than ever.

My heart doesn’t flutter at a mere touch, just his presence.  There is no longer a moment, but moments.  A kiss is merely one of thousands, but I’ll hang on to this one.

When we are young, love is little more than the tension that builds in the presence of another.  With years, love becomes something deeper.  Our thoughts are mingled.  Our time is unhurried.  Our lives combined.

Time is not easy.  There are always rough patches, not only within each year, but inside each day.  Yet, those moments carry less burden when you know you’re not alone.  When you know the very one causing your anger, is the one you will stand beside.  Big things are only big until the wind dies, and you see who is there –the person you love.  How can it get any better than that?

How do we measure love –when the wind blows, when the sun catches you in its rays, when the fire warms your heart?  These can all be true, but there is a greater love waiting.

When you are on the road, and he receives a text, he expects you to read it for him.  Or, those moments when he gazes into your eyes and whispers, “You’re beautiful” as you stand in the harsh light emphasizing the wrinkles, you’re trying to hide.  In the evenings, when I am writing in my office, one of the girls will yell down, “Dad wants you to come up and watch a movie with us.”  Why?  Simply because he wants to spend time with me.  I think…love cannot be measured, only presented and captured.

This entry was posted in: ROMANCE
Tagged with:

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

