irumeur...
Comments 2

irumeur…

Thanksgiving.  Thanks are for giving?  Giving is being thankful?  A meal?

What is Thanksgiving to you?  All of the above?  Write me back and let me know what Thanksgiving means to you.

When the Pilgrim’s and Indians sat down for the first Thanksgiving meal, I’m confident that every child ate the food before them.  What would they do with the leftovers?  Feed them to the wolves?  I doubt it!

Every year I put out my best effort for this meal.  I search up new recipes, foods my family has never eaten, and prepare it with unending love.  I go out of my way to display the dining room table with my finest china.  The napkins are cloth, and the silverware is golden to match my dishes.

Funny, each year I forget that my children want me to make turkey, mashed potatoes and green beans -nothing else.  When they sit down at the table, they may find Ratatouille, Korean ginger tea, rice cakes, plus dishes from all over the world.  I spend a small fortune to bring them culture and a meal fit for a king.

No, we aren’t royalty, but I want them to feel as if they are.  You see; I am thankful they are my family.  Too often, I forget to make an effort.  Too often, I forget to stop and see them.  The days are spinning by, and I fear the day I must say good-bye grows ever closer.  Will they know how much I love them?  Do they know what I am thankful for?

This day, I will show them.  A feast I will spread, and their eyes will glow at my efforts.

Yeah right!  Do you have teenagers, adult children, little ones?  How often do they light up over something they’ve never eaten?

When our children are small, the world is seen through our stories and actions.  It doesn’t last long, but it is grand.

Unfortunately, they get minds of their own.  They become increasingly influenced by commercials, friends, fast-food restaurants, and grocery stores.

Once they are adults, they’ve already developed their bitterness over the life you gave them, the mistakes that you made.  They would just as soon take their chances stepping off the Golden Gate Bridge, then to do anything like you.

However, they are there, sitting around my cherry table, picking away at the foods they believe they can stomach, I think….this is enough, and I am thankful.

 

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur...
Tagged with:

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

  1. I love your idea for the Thanksgiving feast. You’re creating your own tradition and who knows, maybe your children will follow in your footsteps and then pass it on to their children. It does sound like a royal dinner – a delicious one at that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I hope that what you say will come true. I want all of my children and grandchildren to come alive in ways they’ve never dreamed. We have such a short time here – it is a shame to waste it by limiting the palate and the eyes, nose and ears. Happy Thanksgiving my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

