irumeur...
Comments 2

irumeur…

Dream Big, Dream Often 

With a blog name like that, I expected the writer to be a man, like Indiana Jones.  Turns out, he’s just like so many of the rest of us -scared of life.

He claims he is a quitter -someone who starts things, and once bored -he quits.

All my life, I’ve been terrified of failure, and even more terrified to give up.  Tough life!  With these two sides of me battling it out, I was domed to fail long before I began.

Result?  I’ve done lots of things!  I never let my being a woman prevent me from speaking my mind (much to my own embarrassment).  I will struggle to lift the same beam; a man will, in the hopes of getting my barn just right.  I have walked downtown St. Louis, in the middle of the night (alone, I might add), just because I could.   Gone to NYC, alone, gone white-water rafting, hiked up White Face Mountain, entered horse riding competitions, worked cattle, judged horse shows, trained dogs in obedience, hiked past bears, and went soaring down a zip line, 250 feet aboveground.   I opened my dance studio, even though I was sure I wasn’t qualified.  Maybe some would agree!

I took my students to competitions, allowing my choreography, and my students be judged in front of hundreds -I’m still proud of them.  I’ve performed on stage many times, dancing, singing, and acting.  Maybe, I wasn’t the best, but my eyes still glow bright when I remember.

I married the man of my dreams, even when nobody wanted me too.  To this day, I still love him deeply, despite the years of our struggles.  I started raising my granddaughter, even when others thought I shouldn’t.  Never regretted that one!

I adopted a child of color, in a family that was once prejudice.  She is loved by each of us -amazing what time will change.

I opened my own store -and failed beyond belief.  Still paying for that one.

With each success, there have been many failures.  I have quit more jobs, then I can tell you.  I have dropped friends, because it was just too scary to reveal myself, as I truly am.  I have written and never braved the world of others reading my work.

Now, I want to face the world and believe that even if I fail -I will succeed.  Succeed in believing in myself.  Believe in my right to try anything I dream, and it will be okay, no matter how it turns out.  If I can step into my own steps, and keep moving forward, how can I fail?

This entry was posted in: irumeur...
Tagged with:

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: #GirlLove Challenge: Women who inspire me – femininematerz

Leave a Reply

