Nonsense
Leave a Comment

My “Like” Authors

I just took a ride on the path of a little entertainment.

On another blog, a person mentioned a site called “I write like.”  The purpose of this site is to show you what writers, famous writers, you write like.

So, I put in a chapter from several of my novels.  Interesting…

Shinee Love Story – William Gibson is the author chosen.  I think this is because I chose the 2nd chapter, and Mr. Gibson likes to start out, leaving you guessing.  My mistake -as I am sure this is not my writing comparison.

So, I switched to first chapters.

My Olympic Gold Romance produced Kurt Vonnegut as my “write like” choice.  One site, (wikispaces) claimed, “writer with an excessively unique, and persuasive style of writing.”  They say he uses similes and metaphors to evoke emotion in his readers. 

I like that!  Seems we could have something in common here.

Then, I put in a chapter from my twisted romance.  One that moves between love, danger, and drama.  Well, I got Dan Brown, the writer of The DaVinci Code.  Little surprise here – except, I only typed in one chapter.  This chapter had nothing to do with the type of intrigue his book contains.  However, it gets there!

My next romance is politically driven.  The main male character is the son of the Korean President.  The female is the adopted daughter of the US Vice President – running next term for President.  Seems impossible!  My “like” writer is Daniel Defoe, who wrote Robinson Crusoe.  Well, both stories do seem far fetched.

The final story I put in, was the book I am about to release.  Boy, was I surprised to find Stephenie Meyer as my “like” author.  She wrote the Twilight Saga.

No!  There are absolutely no vampires, werewolves, or any other freaky creatures in my book, only synthetic people.  Okay, I guess you could consider this a little freaky.

Okay, for the most part -I consider each of these authors a huge complement to my writing style.  If there is any truth in this sites analysis -I will be shocked and honored.

This entry was posted in: Nonsense

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

