irumeur...
Leave a Comment

irumeur…

During the New Year celebration, I visited with a dear friend.  As I stood in her kitchen she prepared pork and sauerkraut, for her party celebration.

This young lady does not believe in religious beliefs, as she questions which religion is correct, and who is to decide what “God” to follow.  But, she never misses making pork and sauerkraut on New Years Day.  Why?  Because it is suppose to bring good luck for the whole year!

Why do people who refuse to believe in one God, the true God, always place their faith into something -such as pork and sauerkraut?

The Bible tells us that we are created in such a way that we need to believe in a higher power.  Okay, is she saying that God is not worth our faith, but pork and sauerkraut -is?  I’m lost here!  I just can’t grasp the power of pork and sauerkraut.

She also indicated that my husband may not have fallen off of the building had I only followed this tradition last New Years Eve.  Really?

She started telling me how her family is doing well, and staying safe -yet, her husband just told us a story about how he fell through a floor and cracked a vertebrae.  Looks like this is working for you!

I don’t know, maybe I’m just stupid, but -I think….pork and sauerkraut doesn’t work.

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

