irumeur...
Leave a Comment

irumeur…

As I watch parents interacting with their small children, the smiles, giggles, the glow of love -it is a beautiful inspiration.

When my own children were little, I was submersed in that glow.  It was a love that was endless, and abounding.  Nothing, and no one would have the power, strength or fortitude to drive even a sliver between the fine edges of my devotion.

What I wasn’t counting on, was my children, themselves.

When they are little, we fail to see the adults they will become.  We are never prepared the hate and disregard they will one-day feel for us.  Okay, I am not speaking of every child here.  Some children are so tightly woven at their parent’s hip, they either become lost in their parents needs, or they never show their own wants and desires.

Still, if we raise our children to think for themselves, live for themselves, and find their own paths -they will eventually discover every flaw -with you!

Once those flaws are discovered -well, you are no longer the giving, loving, and adored parents of their youth.  They find flaws in your parenting style.  At times, these flaws will be enhanced by their current partners in love.  This will heighten their disappointment in you.

You -become the enemy.  Oh, they will tell you that they still love you.  Question is: do they ever

want to see or talk to you again?  Good luck!

There is a shining liner here.  During this time frame -you just aren’t sure you want to see them either.  So much drama, pain, heartache.  Is it worth it?

Then, something miraculous happens.  They forgive you!  They decide they want you in their lives.  They understand all the challenges of parenthood, and see -they still love you.  Glorious!

Pastors all over are telling us about how much God loves us.  They want us to give our lives over to God, so he can take care of us, by removing our sorrow and offering peace.

God has much the same relationship with us, as we do our little ones.  He glows with pride over every new little darling he molds to grow in our tummies.

When they get angry, and start the young adult rebellion period, they begin to resent him because he isn’t making everything easy.  He has failed, in their eyes, to provide the promises of their childhood fantasies.  So, they reject him!

Some of these children will eventually discover the truth.  God will punish us.  God will allow bad things to happen.  God will not make our lives easy.  What he does -fulfill his promise to bring us peace (no matter what is going on around us) and love us more completely than any other human has the capacity to do.  In the end, our faithfulness will gain us eternal life of perfection!

So, he sits.  Waiting! Hoping you will come to him.  Believe in him.  Trust him alone.  So he can give you the peace you are so desperately seeking.  I think…the truth is what we all seek, to come home.

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur...
Tagged with: , ,

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

