irumeur...
Leave a Comment

irumeur…

Writing for the public.  I’m always reading about this subject.  They say that many books are rejected from big publishers because they are looking for a specific topic, or story line.

Wow!  Does this mean I am doomed before I begin?  When I write -I write what pours out.  Oh yes, I’m admitting this, up front and in real time.

You see; my stories are not outlined and fabricated to meet a certain style, subject or circumstance.  They are written with pure love being offered in every word -in the hopes that you will feel emotion, as you read them.  If I can induce emotions that warm you, produce tears, spawn romantic action, or create an anger that moves you inside -then I’ve done my job.

I’m not out there reading the popular trends; thinking, I can recreate that book -even better.  That book has been written.  It is wonderful in its own right.  Why would I want to write someone else’s story?

Maybe, this will be my doom.  Possibly, it will end my writing career before it even truly begins.  If you, are not interested in my story -why would you want to read it?  Well, that is the number-one question that every author must face. I hope you will read my book, because you are moved by my words -until you can’t put it down.  You must see where it is going, and how it ends.  I don’t want you to read my book because it reminds you of one you’ve already read -and you want to read it again.  If you do -go back and reread the one someone else wrote.

How can I write a story different from the thousands or millions of other romances on this earth?  Well, truth is, I can’t.  You will always find romance, strife and conflict in every fiction.  If it wasn’t there -there would be nothing to read.  In this aspect, my writing is the same.  I’m not trying to feed you a line of lies.  I write just like every other basic author.

I am only saying, I don’t read a book, or discover some style of a book (like Harry Potter, Hunger Games, 50 Shades of Grey) and attempt to rewrite it in my own style.  Every single story, I write, comes from inside of me.

If you are a budding author, and you are trying to discover your voice -look inside.  Your voice can’t be discovered in the text of another story!

I am not saying that you shouldn’t read.  Heavens no!  Reading is fundamental to writing.  If you are reading, how can you understand what creates a good story?  You must read!

Everything we take in, grows our own stories, until they become magical.  That is when we know, we’ve found our voice.  Once you know how you are as a writer -then it is time to discover if the reading public feels the same about our work.  If they don’t -it doesn’t mean your story is bad.  It only means the readers aren’t ready for it.

Authors that’ve written work became famous posthumously:

  1. Emily Dickinson
  2. Jane Austen

I refuse to belittle my voice simply because I am not trained, as a writer.  I have little understanding of the grammatical workings of a book.  I graduated with a sixth grade reading level.  Authors which did not study writing.

  1. Harper Lee
  2. Michael Crichton
  3. John Gresham
  4. Kurt Vonnegut
  5. Danielle Steel
  6. JK Rowling
  7. Jean M. Auel

Nor, will I cower from the world of authors because I am over 50.  My age only deepens my knowledge of love, life and romance.  People who didn’t become famous until 50 or over.

  1. Colonel Sanders
  2. Laura Ingalls Wilder
  3. Ronald Reagan
  4. Grandma Moses
  5. Betty White
  6. Tommy Lee Jones
  7. Morgan Freeman

Then, let us consider J.R.R. Tolkien.  He wrote the Hobbit in 1937.  The movie, by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer and New Line Cinema, was released in December 2012.  The author died in 1973.  By this time, his story was a huge success.  If even one of my books becomes that famous long after I am dead -Great!

In September 2000, Warner Bros. began working on movies, based upon books written by an unknown author.  Someone untrained, educationally, to write.  A story just developed in 1990, by J.K. Rowling.  Ten years, for a first time, untrained author, to go from pen and paper to a movie production.

Now, I’m not saying I will become famous, like many of these people.  Nor am I trying to spout that my book will become a movie, but I think…it could.

 

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur...
Tagged with: ,

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

