Nonsense
Comments 5

Just Jot It January

Just Jot It January 2016 Rules

JJJ 2016Today’s jot is: Cloud

Each night, at about 9 p.m.  I go down to the barn to feed my horses.  I like to go at night, because I want to make sure they’ve eaten before the weather turns colder.  There is another reason, as well.

Prior to moving to our current home, I lived on top of a hill, with very few trees.  Almost none of them were tall enough to obscure the sky.  If you’ve every been in a planetarium observatory, it feels like a bubble, enclosing you, with a vast sky all around.  At night, I would be enclosed in the bubble of sky.

Now, I am surrounded by trees, and can’t experience this same bubble.  However, I still see the sky, when I am at the barn.  Some nights, the sky is clear, and the constellations sparkle down at me.

Other nights, the sky is full of clouds, and I can’t see anything.

On of my favorite displays, is when the clouds are thick and range in shade between an almost white/grey to dark and eerie.  These clouds leave giant, gapping holes, allowing you see large masses of the beautiful sky, and stars, above the clouds.  On these nights, the moon will switch between a glowing orb, to just a dim light as the darker clouds, lighter clouds and openings pass in front of it.  These nights often carry with it a cool breeze, and you can feel the brisk air around you.  They are stunning to behold.

I often lay back on my 4-wheeler, and just stare up, entranced by the mesmerizing movie above me.  One day, I will take a video, and share it with you.

This entry was posted in: Nonsense
Tagged with:

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

