irumeur...
Comments 4

irumeur…

Just Jot It January 8th – Honorable

JJJ 2016

Today’s Jot: Honorable

Honor?

My dad fought in both the Korean War, and the Vietnam war.  He earned a Bronze Medal for his work to save his fellow comrades.  That, I think… is honor!

  (Not my Picture)

The father who raises his child, and stays faithfully by his wife’s side, is honor.

The child that steps in and stops another classmate from being bullied, is honor.

Helping another, when you see them struggling, is honor.

Giving of yourself, even when you have little of your own to offer, is honor.

Remaining true to yourself, in a world that finds morality an old foolish rule, is honor.

Working a job, to pay the bills, is honor.

Being a parent which consciously makes choices so their children don’t have to pick up the tap for their childish mistakes, is honor.

Remembering that people all over the world have rights, is honor.

Remembering to look at each person you come in contact with, is someone’s child, and is loved, is honor.

Remembering to care for yourself, so others won’t have to, is honor.

Remembering to be humble, when you’re no longer able to live on your own, due to ALS or some other debilitating disease, is honorable.

No matter how much the world tells us to change, to make everything okay, morality, compassion, self-sacrifice and giving, will always be, I think… honorable.

I’m going to break my normal format to state what is most important to me –

Falling on your knees, praying for forgiveness and asking Christ to save you -in a world that does not want you to believe in one God, is honor.

 

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

4 Comments

  1. I totally agree with you on what you consider honourable even though my spirituality is a different one. I think people today have a need for spirit in all his/ her forms and they start to realise it. Thanks for your post and sharing your thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

