irumeur...
Comments 7

irumeur…

SoCS badge 2015

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Jan. 9/16

“Title” – title of a favorite movie.

The Last of the Mohicans is one of my favorite movies.  Each time, I watch this movie, I feel that same since of thrill.  The old Indians amaze me.  Their lifestyle, culture, and abilities leave me in awe.

I’ve always envisioned a world where we respect every thing and every one.  Now, I’m not trying to say that Indians respected everyone.  We already know they took women and children, enslaving them, as a regular practice, during a raid.

Still, they lived more closely to the first men -living off the land; surviving or dying by their own prowess.  I like these characters in a man, and I admire this quality in a woman.

Thanking the animal that feeds you, and using each part of its body for food, tools, shelter, and clothing -their is something primitive and manly, about a man that protects, provides and withstands the elements of life.

I suppose the same could be said for the men, in Mountain Men, The Last American Frontier, and Bear Grylls -Oh, yes, I’m including him.  I’ve seen few men that exhibit the strength and courage to survive, under every circumstance thrown at them, then Bear and Steve Irwin.  Except, that Steve is dead.

Both of these men, honestly, leave me breathless with admiration.

So, back to the movie.  The times were different, and a man was either a man, or his family died.  The men of today, too many of them, are weak, and spend most of their life in front of a TV, watching the game, rather than living as a hunter.  They find the latest technical gadget far more thrilling then hunting.

Now, I love a beautiful man.  We all know how pretty Choi Min Ho is, by now.  (I sneak him in every chance I get)  But, it takes more than looks to fulfill my vision of a man.  If Min Ho wasn’t talented in about every athletic event he enters, if his strength wasn’t a form of pride for him and if he acted like a girl, as a general rule -I wouldn’t even see the pretty.

To me, a man must be able to use his hands, his mind, and his body.  Oh, please, get your head out of the gutter.

I don’t particularly find Bear all that attractive in the face, but when he uses his body -his beauty transforms into something wild.  Steve was gentle, but a mighty force.

The way the Indians protect their women in this movie, it makes every scene more colorful.  A woman can trust a man like that.  She can place her faith he will stand beside her, and die for her, if he must.

Maybe, I look for to much, but if Hawkeye/Nathaniel Poe or Chingachgook were still here, today-they would be men, any woman, I think would be lucky to stand beside.

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

7 Comments

  1. Loved “Last of the Mohicans.” I liked your mention of Choi Minho… I have a singer I mention every time I get a chance too. You’ll get to see him in my post tomorrow, more than likely. He was very pretty in his younger days. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am sure he was! One day Min Ho will not be a pretty either, but I’m sure I won’t live to see it. It is wonderful that my husband humors my crush. I tell him that if he starts crushing over another woman -that he choses one that is just as unattainable. He He! He is such a confident man, in my love he just brushes the whole thing off. I will enjoy reading about your secret (not so secret -since we both scream it out) man, as well. Take a gander at Min Ho and tell me if you think he’s pretty. I’ll look at yours now, and then.

      Like

Leave a Reply

