irumeur...
Leave a Comment

irumeur… (Gun Control)

Gun Control.
I’ve been talking with dalecooper57.  Together, we have argued, pleasantly, the pros and cons of government and gun control.  I’ve really enjoyed the debate.
So, he wrote: after two hundred years of getting to the point where you have more guns than people, there is no way for you to back out, you’re committed to slowly rising self-destruction.
This is my response.  A little lengthy.
Harsh.  You have us, doomed.  We are people who love our toys.  A dangerous toy to be had, but as collectors, we collect what we love.  Not for violence, but for the brag.  My dad, a sharp shooter for the Air Force, left me several rifles.  I cherish them.  Not because I want to shoot anyone -quite the contrary -I don’t know if I could harm another, even if my life depended upon it.  I cherish them, because they are a part of him.  When he was a boy, you owned your own rifle.  On the very land I live upon, my dad, and his dad roamed, hunting for food.  Just over the hill, my dad lifted his 12 gauge and shot straight up.  A squirrel fell down.  It wasn’t intentional, but he was, out hunting squirrel, at the time.  It is a memory of him, all wonderful memories of him, I cherish.  He believed in man’s right to defend himself, and I believed in him.  Doesn’t make it right, but it is.
So, having more guns than people is simply because we love to display, brag, show off, and collect.  I think I will have to blog about this, as I believe we are misunderstood here.  Not being raised with this thrill -it would make it harder to understand, just as I might find some of your cultures -silly, weird, or wrong.  Not, that I’m saying there are, because I haven’t the foggiest of any cultural difference, I don’t find intriguing, thus far.
Matter of fact, I am more one to take a new “learn” and incorporate it into my life, as a means to become “One” with others.  Sharing lifestyles is how America first started -we are a nation of nations.  I love that about us!  Although, when I read about your history, I am fascinated that your lines can be traced back to hundreds of years, with literature, paintings and a long history.
Sometimes, when reading these historical facts, I am appalled by the violence and cruelty of the times.  The beheadings of a queen, in England, to the killing of an entire village of Asians simply because they would prevent someone from being in power, the ripping apart of people from limb to limb, by Indians, Asians, French?, so many cultures.  The Germans, wiping out nearly an entire village.  France, Austria, Poland, Russia, all betraying the Jews, to save themselves from Hitler, or to gain some of the power.  We could go on and on -but as you know, the list would be too long.
Throughout history, people have been fascinating as they clawed their way to the world we are today, and we are still clawing -each of us, in some way.  Maybe, the truth is, we are all doomed.  In a way, we are still barbaric, I think…with finesse.
This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

