Nonsense
Leave a Comment

Just Jot It January 12

JJJ 2016

Jot -Skulls

I’m not a hunter -I’m an animal nut!  So, what do I know about skulls?

So, I thought I’d write about the Catacombs of Paris.  It is believed the catacombs holds the dead bodies of 6 million people.  Why?  That’s what I want to find out.

Well -this will certainly promote cremation.  It seems the mines were caving in, and the people of the area needed a fix.  That wasn’t the only problem they were having -to many dead folks.  Yep, that’s right!  Their cemeteries were maxed out, but the dead kept dying.  Or rather, the living kept dying. Or, should I say -the dying kept wanting to be buried.

Easy fix -use the dead to help hold up the mines.  Easy peasy!

I can envision the nightly parade.  Men in black, walking along the sides of a wagon.  The sound of the horses hooves striking the cobblestone path, as the dead are carried to the mines, and their lifeless bodies stuffed into the crooks and cranies of the dirt and wood, meant to stabilize the very structure they would hold together.

Now, that’s exactly what I want for my dead corpse.  Stuff me into a wall, and let others walk past as I decay.  Okay, maybe they waited to make it a tourist attraction, until after the bodies had turned to bones.  Possibly, they dug up the bones, and buried the freshies.  At least, until someone else needed your spot.  Sweet!

This was no easy feat.  It took two years to transport all of the dead, to their new home.  It was Louis XVI who decided to use the bodies of burial grounds from inside the city.  The weight of their tombs, was causing more cave in’s in the mines.  Some homes, were also falling into the empty caverns.

Ironically, King XVI was guillotined, after being found guilty of high treason.  One must wonder, if his skull can be found in the Catacombs of Paris.  The people were so displeased with him, they began the First French Republic.   Poor Louis -he was the first King to be executed.

Eight months later, his wife, known for her beauty, Marie Antoinette, was all sentenced to death, and faced the guillotine.

Is there a lesson to be learned here?  If you use my body for money  -it may not turn out so well, for you, in the end.

 

This entry was posted in: Nonsense

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

