Nonsense
Comments 4

Language

I was raised in the 60’s & 70’s, when everything was about love and peace.  Both are a universal language -I sure wished we would feel it more for one another.  I thought about the word LOVE.  It is such an amazing four letter word, with such power behind its meaning.  I pretty sure, the whole world has some knowledge of the way we Americans refer to this emotion.  But what about other countries.  Do we use their version of love?  Do we know what it is?  Will it have the same impact on us, just hearing it?  Let’s find out.

With the exception of the first 7 -which I already knew, the rest came from wordhippo.com.  The ones I know are probably translated “I love you!” instead of just the word “love.”

  1. Korean’s say: Saranghaeyo
  2. Japanese say: Aishiteru
  3. Chinese say:
    Xǐ’ài  I know this word as (even though not sure of writing, so here is the sound) Whiney Wi Ni Ee something like this.  The I is long.
  4. French say: Je t’aime (any word in French just strikes rhythm)

I love each of these versions, and regularly say them to my family.  What about the rest?

  1. Italian: Amore
  2. German’s: Ick liebe dick (I am not sure about this spelling.  Learned it from in-laws)
  3. Spanish: te amo
  4. Afrikaans: Liefde
  5. Arabic:

    حب

  6. Aremenian:
  7. Azerbaijani:
  8. Basque:Maitasun
  9. Belarusian:

    Bengali: (this one sure is pretty to look at)

  10. Bosnian: Ljubav
  11. Bulgarian

Okay, I never had any idea there were this many countries.  I’m going to write the countries we hear the most often.  If I make a mistake -please correct me.  If your word for “love” isn’t on the list -drop me a line, so others will know it too!

  1. Fikipino: amor
  2. Finnish: Intohimo
  3. Greek: agape
  4. Hindi: Pyara
  5. Hungarian: Szerelem
  6. Indoniesian: Asmara
  7. Icelandic: Ast
  8. Irish: A chroi
  9. Latin: Gratia
  10. Norwegian: Elske
  11. Polish: Afekcja
  12. Portuguese: Adorar
  13. Romanian: Amor
  14. Russian: Vlyublennost
  15. Swahili: Mpenzi
  16. Swedish: Alska
  17. Thai: Rdi
  18. Turkish: Ask
  19. UKrainian: Zakokhanist
  20. Vietnamese: Ai tinh
  21. Welsh: Anwylyd
  22. Yiddish: Lib hobn
  23. Zulu: Cecezelela (I’ve never heard of this country but it starts with Z so I added it)

One word that pops up frequently is some writing of amour.  I really like Asmara, Mpenzi, Gratia, Agape, Adorar, and Pyara.  What about you?

This entry was posted in: Nonsense
Tagged with:

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

4 Comments

  1. So interesting all the words for love and I love you around the world. I knew a few of them, and I really like the French one! Thanks for looking them all up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

