Spirtuality
Comments 2

The Seasons of Our Lives

Finally, I remember!

My cousins, wives – father died.  His funeral was yesterday.  L -was a wonderful man, who never said an unfair word about anyone.  He spoke softly, and always offered a smile.  Since I was young, I thought of him more as an uncle -then the neighborhood grocer.

During his funeral, the minister spoke of L -as a savior.  At first, I was confused.  Then he explained that we were all saviors of something, earthly.  He was not comparing L to Christ -only in his giving to others -saving them.

See, L knew the people who shopped at his store.  He knew when they didn’t buy enough food, they were low on money, needed clothing, shoes, mittens -and he provided.  He was a great representative for Christ, on earth.

What struck me, what I had such a hard time remembering, was the ending to his sermon.  It was the seasons -The Seasons of Our Lives.

A season to be born; a season to marry, a season to begin a family; a season to die.  Oh, there are so many seasons, in our lives.  Every new event -is a fresh season.

Still, this was not the season of point.  Our season, is the time we are here!  You see, there have been well over 2000 seasons, since Adam and Eve.  Each person that lived, had their season -and when we die, our season is up.

I found this to be beautiful.  We all wish we could be remembered.  We all hope we’ve left our mark upon this earth -but the truth is, our season has passed.  We must allow a new season to begin.

What a beautiful season L shared with those who knew him.  My Peyton shared a season that lasted a little over five years -a journey that still brings a smile to my heart.

It made me think -which is more important, the season that begins when I am gone, or the season where I lived?

Let my season be in my living -and when I am gone, a new life will begin their own season.  Will I leave my mark?  If I do, I want to leave it today, while I am here sharing in your season.  I want to leave a mark of kindness, gentleness, and passion.  I want all who meet me, to know the peace I have been offered by my Lord and to offer you -a season where you feel the love of Christ in my actions -as an earthly savior.

This entry was posted in: Spirtuality
Tagged with: , ,

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

