Cooking Outside the Kitchen, With Dee, Nonsense
Comments 4

Cooking Outside the Kitchen, With Dee

Today, we will prepare Spaghetti w/French Bread

Always best to get your noodles going first.  Fill a large pot 3/4 full of water and throw in the amount of noodle’s, you feel will feed your family.  I use one small box.  Make sure you place a lid on the pot -so it boils quicker.

Next, place a frying pan on the stove and get it heating (on high), while you open a package of hamburger.  I use 1 pound, but you may prefer more.  Take out the spatula (because if you don’t someone is going to ask you where it is), and place next to the stove.

After I have my spaghetti cooking, I find the quilt I’m currently working on.  I love the feel of fabric and knowing the pieces sewn together are creating a small piece of art that can be passed down through the generations.  “Johnny, this quilt was made by your great-great Nonny Vaal.  One day, you will pass it down to your son.”  Okay -it’s a dream that could come true -so let up on me a little!

Oh, back to the spaghetti -well, your sewing and at some point those noodles are going to start boiling over -cause you placed the lid on, remember?

This is simple to take care of.  “Kids -one of you should finish the hamburger, and the other one, stir the noodles.”  You might want to recommend they turn the heat down, also.  After all, that hamburger is probably burning by now.  Be prepared to answer, when they ask, “Why do we have to do it?”

“Don’t you see this quilt on my lap?  Can I easily but all of this down, just to pick it back up?  Now, go finish dinner.”  At least, I am not a mother lacking in communication.  My kids ask me a question -I always answer.

When you begin to smell -dinner, make sure you get the kids hopping on the bread.  Don’t want to leave that out!

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed this time outside the kitchen, with Dee.  I got a lot of sewing done.  See you next week.  Maybe, we’ll make meatloaf.

 

 

Tagged with: , ,

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

