irumeur...
Leave a Comment

irumeur…

For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

This is the second quote from 51 Amazing Happiness Quotes -from Sourav Adhikari.

We all get angry.  Some of us, blare it out for the whole world to see.  Some, attempt to hide their anger with ridiculous looks upon our face -sharing it with the source of our anger.  Others, hold it inside.

During these episodes, testosterone production increases in the male (probably in the female too).  The heart rate and arterial tension increases as well.  The left side of the brain becomes stimulated -and to put this in a form that is easy to understand -we regress to an animalistic behavior.  The only positive is the release of stress, at least for those who do not hold it inside.

According to one study -we actually seek out the person, or thing that is causing our anger.  We want to be close to it.

The easy way to give into anger -is negative words.  Yes, cussing, and saying such statements as, “I don’t care what you do!” make you angrier.  The more negative is your behavior -the more frequent bouts of anger you will feel.  Eliminate the negativity -and the world will lift some of your burdens.

My husband and I do our share of arguing -Heaven knows he has apologized more times in 30 years -than any -woman.  During one particular argument, he forced me to the ground, held my hands to each side of my head, and calmly said, “Why am I always the one who has to say; I’m sorry?”  Well, you know that ended the argument!  Bless his heart -he’s always been able to make me smile.  I actually believe I uttered those sweet words -at least this “one” time!

Something about time makes you dislike these moments.  They no longer hold that temptation to hear these words.  Now, I just want peace and comfort.  I want to see my family working together.  When I feel an explosion coming on -I squelch it as quickly as I am able.  It doesn’t solve anything, and it separates us, from one another.

Sad, when the one you love doesn’t want to be near you.  You’re sitting alone, wishing the day would have been different -but you allowed a stupid, selfish moment to divide you.  In moments like this -it is best, I think…to say, “Don’t you think it is time you say -I’m sorry?”  (oh come on -you weren’t expecting me to write that, were you?)

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

