irumeur...
Comments 2

irumeur…

This time, I have two quotes that I wanted to expound upon, together.  Make sure you thank, Sourav Adhikari, for bringing these amazing quotes to our attention.

“To be happy, we must not be too concerned with others.”Albert Camus & “There is only one way to happiness and that is to cease worrying about things which are beyond the power of our will.” Epictetus.

Let there be no mistake in me writing these two quotes -these two did not bring me happiness -only sorrow for those who believe them.

Happiness cannot be found, in self.  We must give of ourselves, to find true happiness.  When we shy away from the sorrow of others, we may think we are happy -but we have denied ourselves the joy of loving another -even in the very worst of times.  Loving them so much, that in losing them, we feel blessed.

You ask, how can we feel blessed by the lose of another?  I’ll tell you!  When you give your heart, time, effort, and prayers -to another, someone who just happened to fall into your life, and you didn’t pass them by: This could be a foster child, a cancer child, an old woman in the nursing home, the beggar on the street, the cranky, lonely man on the corner -it changes you.

The time you offer, each moment, each tear, the laughter, the joy and the sorrow -they glow inside you!

Once, I sat at a restaurant with my husband, and one of our girls.  Our three foster daughters were sitting at another table with their mom and grandma.  We bought everyone’s lunch that day. I’m not telling you this to pat myself on the back.  I never gave it a second thought -it was just the way we treated our foster children.  We wanted them to experience joys in life -that would last a lifetime (and hopefully change the outcome of their futures).

Bob and I weren’t even paying attention to this family, as we ate our meal.  Their time, was for them -not for us!

The girls kept running back to our table -fresh, pure smiles upon their faces.  I loved those girls (and still do) as if they were my own.  In truth, I selfishly wanted them to be my girls -forever.  The day I took them back to their mother -was not a happy day for me -and yet, it was beautiful.

This woman and her husband walked over to me, as they went to check out.  She stopped at our table, and said to me, “There is a glow above your head.  I can tell you are an angel.”

I’ll never forget that moment!  I wasn’t looking for praise -but the love I felt for this family was genuine.  Despite my sadness in saying, “Good-bye” -I wouldn’t trade a moment we shared together.

Many of you have read about my journey with Peyton.  Had I done as these quotes suggested -I wouldn’t have been so devastated by his loss -but, I think…then I wouldn’t have known such great joy -as he brought to my life.

Live, love and laugh with those that will move your life with abounding love. ~~Dee Vaal

This entry was posted in: irumeur...
Tagged with: , ,

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

