POETRY
Comments 10

Love L Day!

Today, 7 years ago -we adopted our wonderful daughter.  She was 7 years old -so she has now shared half her life with us.

I’ll never forget her tiny face with those huge dark eyes, and the short crop of black hair.  As she ran down the hall, her smile was beaming.  I was looking at my daughter, and I loved her.

The honeymoon stage didn’t last long, and we began our long journey of bringing this little girl to a safe place, where she could thrive, and grow, confident and strong.  As challenging as these moments may have been -most on the outside never knew the struggles she faced.  That bright eyed child could instantly turn from hysteria -to the bright eyed child that greeted us that first day.

The day after L came home, we took her to the zoo.  It has always been a special treat, for me, to spend time with the animals.  M (our other 14 year old -was plenty use to walking around the zoo.  We’d gone regularly, since her birth.

L struggled, grew tired.  She tried to smile, but she still didn’t know how.  Her mouth was crooked, and solemn.  Her life had been so much different then ours.  She learned to read, and write from the TV, that had been her constant companion.  Her small, frail legs, lacked muscle.  Her daddy picked her up and placed her on his shoulders.  What a goofy girl she became.

Now, looking back -I can see just how far she has come -and where I believe she will go.  She is brighter than the average, and she soars through our hearts.  From that first day, until now -I cherish each moment.  The good, the bad, and the very ugly -they have been part of this journey to find happiness, confidence, life, and joy.

To my L -Saranghae (I love you)

I am!

In your mystical eyes, dark pearls of knowing

A broken story lies in shattered pieces.

The dragon whispers of fires burning

In a land of nothingness –running nowhere.

 

Captured light in a bright world

Fearlessness in happiness

Believing in tenderness

Pleased in me.

 

I breathe, I am

I seek, I know

I trust, I can

I love, loved!

 

This entry was posted in: POETRY
Tagged with:

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

10 Comments

  1. Afrika Bohemian says

    This made me tear up, such beautiful writing. I am glad that L has found her spirit companions, and it is true what they say, how in life we always find our people; they do not need to be born to us. Much love and light to you and your family

    Liked by 1 person

    • how sweet. thank you. when I showed her what I wrote -she gave me one of those disgusted looks and said, “Mom, why you gotta write about me?” I told her, so I can encourage others to adopt, and know the wonderful joy she brings me. Do you like the poem?” She responded with, “I don’t get it!” She plopped the paper on the counter, and walked off. She is adorable! What is even better -is she is a normal, healthy, teenage daughter. Thank you God!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Afrika Bohemian says

        This warms my heart. They say that the teenage years are always the most interesting. If only she knew how her story is moving the hearts of many strangers in far away places; she sounds like an adorable teen. thanks for sharing your story, I volunteer sometimes at an orphanage and I hope one day to be able to adopt

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope that you are able. The moment you know that child is yours -they are. No difference -just this chest welling love. But, it won’t happen as fast for them. Give them time -and never deny them the love they feel for their birth parents. That is part of the secret -you can’t take that away -and jealousy does not fit in with motherhood. If you talk with them and allow them to talk back -there lies the bonds that will last. They need someone to trust. You know, my daughter has memories now -and I am the one she remembers being there -even though, sadly -I wasn’t. She will realize this on her own -and you can see a sadness there, but then she knows I am the only “mommy” she remembers -and that is a happy place! In the last couple of years, her birth mother has sought her out through other birth family members she remains in contact with. At first, L was very interested, but scared. She believed she’d never see her again. Silly girl! Now, B calls, but L doesn’t see her as mom so it is nothing more than an old family member she rarely talks with -and she is ready to move on. I limit this to Christmas and her birthday. Sorry, I ramble

        Like

Leave a Reply

