irumeur...
Comments 2

Irumeur…

 

Your scent.  In Flower Boy Next Door, the character Enrique (Yoon Shi Yoon) tells Do Mi (Park Shi Hye) to “Give your scent off in the world.”  I loved this!  Sometimes the writers have such beautiful insight you can’t help but grab lines like this and go with it.

 

My scent!  What do I smell like?  I remember the first time I got into my husband’s S-10 he had a very noticeable scent, one that seems to stick to him all the time.  For me, it is a scent that I hope to smell and carry with me for my lifetime.  Yet, this is not the scent we are referring to!

 

This scent refers to your presence.  It is about being seen, heard and noticed.  If we don’t face life full on how can we possibly make an impression – leave a scent?  I know my scent would carry the heavy fragrance of sorrow – but this is not the scent I wish to be remembered for.  I want the aroma of my presence to be filled with a heady portion of joy.  This has been the best part of who I am.  I have always looked for at best in life and allowing that essence to spring forth with my eyes and smile.

 

This show talks about their apartment guard having left a trace of his presence with a hat that hangs from a hook.  The wood behind the hat is darker than the rest of the room.  My footprint would be heavy as I’ve always carried things around – saddles, feed bags, buckets of water, and manure.  Yet the imprint would be light as I walk with the balance of a dancer without touching any space for long.

 

I suppose my scent would then be one full of movement, strength and balance.  Ha Ha – I balanced!  I guess in many ways I am, yet I am regularly surprised by my own doubts.  I, like the girl in this show, hide away from people more often than I push myself to join them.  If I can find any excuse to bow out of an event with others, I will!  Just yesterday we were invited to visit with a very dear and old friend.  I did tell my husband about the invitation, but I failed to mention I was invited, as well.  I was surprised that Bob didn’t attend the gathering, but I wasn’t surprised by my own reluctance. 

 

To leave a scent, I have to embrace the presence of others.  I love people and truly enjoy when I see happiness in them – but I enjoy them more as an observer rather than in participation.  I could sit upon a bench all day and just watch the people go by.  If I see joy in their presence, I typically will cry from their happiness.  Their delight fills me with emotion and love for them. 

 

When I see those hurts, or crying I will often cry for them.  I don’t know why their pain and sorrow seemed to overflow from my heart – but it does.  Laughter will always make me smile, and peace will take me back to the sweetest times in my life.  People have always affected my emotions.  I wish to be a small part with their lives – yet, I am not interested in being one with them.

 

Can I still leave my scent – a trace of who I am?  I think……I will try!

This entry was posted in: irumeur...
Tagged with:

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

  1. I think you can still leave a very sweet scent even when you step back more than step forward. People can see a reluctance to be in crowds but still see the beautiful smile when you greet them. They can see shyness or maybe someone a little inward looking but know that person is there in a crisis, they are gentle and kind and the world is a better place for them being there. It isn’t always necessary to live in other people’s pockets to leave your mark on their lives.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

