Reblog
Comments 3

Friday Travel – vol 16

Dutch goes the Photo!

Today, I thought I’d share a couple of travel photos from a trip to Nova Scotia about 10 years ago.  In particular, there’s a great little town called Peggy’s Cove, just a little south of Halifax that I want to share with you.

Peggys-Cove-Lighthouse_P2P9106Lighthouse at Peggy’s Cove, N.S.

The classic red-and-white lighthouse is still operated by the Canadian Coast Guard, and is situated on an extensive granite outcrop at Peggy’s Point, immediately south of the village and its cove. This lighthouse is one of the most-photographed structures in Atlantic Canada and one of the most recognizable lighthouses in the world.

Visitors may explore the granite outcrop on Peggy’s Point around the lighthouse; despite numerous signs warning of unpredictable surf (including one on a bronze plaque on the lighthouse itself), several visitors each year are swept off the rocks by waves, sometimes drowning.

The first lighthouse at Peggy’s Cove was built in 1868 and was…

View original post 456 more words

This entry was posted in: Reblog

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

3 Comments

  1. Thank you for the reblog, as I very much appreciate it! Nova Scotia and Peggy”s Cove in particular are wonderful places to visit and, I would imagine, live, as Nature’s beauty surrounds you everywhere!

    …and I’m voting for Margaret 🙂

    Frank

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

