irumeur..., Spirtuality
Comments 2

irumeur -250 ISIS Militants Killed

250 ISIS Militants Killed

When I read these report’s I must celebrate our county’s victory.  As I celebrate, I remember to bend my knees in prayer.  Why?

Lives have been lost.  Each time any human dies, we have lost an earthly brother or a sister, maybe a child.  This act  should not be celebrated with great joy.  If we lose sight of humanity -then we become less than human.

First, let me tell you all, I am so very proud of our soldiers who fight each day for our freedom.  Many of you already know that my father fought in both the Korean and Vietnam Wars.  I was one of the lucky children, to have my daddy return to me.

Each time our men and woman go out -their lives are risked.  They do this for us.  A sacrifice none should be asked to make.  I celebrate them -and the continued freedom from all who would oppress us for greed, money, power, or even religion.  I think about their personal sacrifice -not only of life and limb, but of their personal choice to take another life.  Yes, it is a deed that someone must do, and they have the inner strength to find peace in that choice.  I am thankful for this.  I could not without conviction it was the only way to protect my family.  How amazing that they have already found this conviction!

I am a Christian -Christ would never teach us to control others for our God.  He would ask us to love and pray for our enemies and love them as our brothers and sisters.  The reason he can say this, is because the only way to reach Heaven is through faith -so we cannot force others to become Christians.  I pray each day that if I must one day face my enemy, I will pray for them, even if they strike me dead.

Even though, this time, we have been spared US casualties, the loss felt by other families is still tremendous.  Where their children with this traveling group?  Where their wives, girlfriends, sisters, and brothers, sons and daughters?  As we celebrate, remember these families will feel great sorrow.  I wish this had not been the outcome we were forced to choose -but chose we must.

How have “we” suffered that we have been forced to kill others to protect ourselves?  We are responsible for the death of others, even though it is a moment to celebrate, let us not forget that we killed.  That is a burden our government, we the people, must carry.

Please join me in prayer:

Father, as our military moves together to rid ourselves of an enemy that wishes our death, I pray we will display strength not only in our power to protect the people, all people, but in our wisdom to act with mercy, conscious, and sorrow for the choice to kill.

I pray for the families of the dead.  I pray for the children who have been lost, or have lost.  Allow their eyes to be opened by the deadly choices of those that have passed.  Show their hearts your will, so they will find refuge in your love, and turn away from acts of violence.

Mostly, Father, I pray that our strength will not be taken lightly, and that people all over the world, will join hands and become family.  Christ taught us to love one another.  He did not come to cause a division between them and me -but to love each of us equally.  We must not turn our hearts away from those we must destroy -but be prayerful in our love for others even at our darkest hour.

Just as each time a sword is drawn against me, my family, or my country -I must draw my sword in defense but, I think…I will feel great sorrow not only for the impending dead, but the one who believes they must kill.

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur..., Spirtuality

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

  1. Amen!
    A song I knew as a child says “They will know we are Christians by our love.”
    As Christians we are called to more than pretty words or sentiments…let us love not just in word but in deed and prayer…a great reminder to us all, especially me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

