FOREIGN DRAMA & Music
Leave a Comment

Foreign Drama -Master’s Sun

The Master's Sun-p1.jpg

Master’s Sun

17 episodes 2013

Why did it take me so long to watch this drama when it received such high recommendations?  I’m just not into paranormal.

This is a drama by the famous Hong Sisters (Hong Jun Eun & Hong Mi Ran).  They are screenwriters who wrote some of my favorite dramas.

  1. Warm and Cozy/ Jeju Island
  2. My Girlfriend is a Nine-tailed Fox
  3. The Greatest Love

and one nearly all Kdrama fans will recognize: You’re Beautiful

The most recent drama for Jo Si Sub, the hero in this drama, was Oh My Venus.  For me, the character he played was dull in comparison to the lead female, Kong Hyo Jin -who is fabulous in everything she does.

I’m not saying I didn’t like the lead male, just that he was dull.  The kisses lack luster, and how could your really get into a guy who constantly said, “Get lost.”?  Yet, there were very sweet moments.  Those precious moments where he would touch her and worry over her were especially endearing.  Still, the moment he confesses his true feelings, he is still telling her to leave him in the end.  What?  How is that romantic?  How is that supposed to steal my heart?

Personally, I found the romance building between Seo In Guk and Kim Yoo Ri, exciting.  I loved the way In Guk kept pushing her away, causing her to fall more deeply in love.  Each time she kept coming back and each time he grew more concerned about her.  Cute!

Lots of time women talk about loving men with dark hair -tall, dark and handsome.  I am sure that Seo In Guk fits that bill.  Wow!  He has two new dramas this year.  Shopping King Louie (not available) and 38 Task Force (on Drama Fever and Viki as Squad 38).  Other dramas you may recognize him in was She Was Pretty, Oh My Ghost, and Love Rain.  He was the 2009 winner of Mnet’s Superstar K TV show.  He won the Best New Actor award for this drama and in 2014, for The King’s Face.  The King’s Face can be found on Drama Fever.

L (from Infinite) was adorable, and very young.  I can’t say he impressed me in this drama -but he had a very small part.  It is still always exciting to see him on the screen.

This was an interesting role for Kim Mi Kyung.  Normally, she plays a strong independent woman.  In this drama, she has an odd husband, who you question whether he truly loves her, and she even gets pregnant.  In the end, it is clear they really love one another.  I liked seeing her in a different role, but it wasn’t my favorite role for her.  I believe that role will remain the smart computer genius in Healer.

With a story full of ghosts there are so many characters to love.  Some of my favorites are:

  • Han Bo Reum
  • Ko Nak Hyun (this guy only made facial expressions but he was lovely)
  • Kang Joo Eun
  • Jung Yoon Suk

Apparently Minah and Kim Bo Ra were in this drama, but I don’t remember them.  Seo Hyo Rim was another actress that found a few scenes in this drama.

You can’t watch this drama without having your heart stole by all the children, but the two that weren’t ghost were adorable little boys: Lee Do Hyun and Hong Eun Taek.

There are three separate albums out there for this drama.  The one that appears to have all the songs, is the one with the same picture as above. The song performed by Seo In Guk is No Matter What.

If you love paranormal dramas, this one won many awards and was ranked in the high teens for viewing.  The two leads even won Best Couple Award.  Guess that shows I don’t know what I’m talking about.

Yoonmirae won an award two music awards for her song Touch Love.

Dee
Cinematography  8
Script  10
Music  10
Acting  9
Story  10
Total Score  9.4♥

 

This entry was posted in: FOREIGN DRAMA & Music

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

