FOREIGN DRAMA & Music, Uncategorized
Comments 2

Foreign Drama: Hwayi: A Monster Boy

Hwayi-p01.jpg

Hwayi: A  Monster Boy

125 Minutes 2013

Yeo Jin Goo (Orange Marmalade; Potato Star 2013; I Miss You; Tree With Deep Roots; Moon Embracing the Sun; Giant) breaks the heart of every mother in this drama.  When we birth a child we have dreams of their happiness and success in a world where they are floating on a cloud of wonderment.

Now, this never happens.  At least I’ve never met anyone so blessed.  Even children of wealthy families have strife and conflict, and many poor children are truly happy.

So what made this movie so awful?  Not only is this child kidnapped but he is turned into a killing machine.  This would be a true nightmare for me -knowing my child was not only kidnapped but their lives had been turned into a living hell.

Hwayi is around 2 or 3 when he is taken by a gang of 6 men.  These men are evil!  The leader, portrayed by Kim Yun Soek, (a man who makes more movies then dramas) is not only the primary father to this boy he is a husband.  He beats his wife, chaining her feet together so she can’t run away.

Because of his own demons, he locks the boy in the basement so he will learn to kill his own monster.  “To kill a monster you must become one.” -Wow!

When Hwayi learns the truth of his past he tries to protect his birth mother and the mother who raised him.  The gang must die!

I graded this movie not based upon my likes or dislikes.  I attempted to be fair.  Personally, this movie is emotional and devastating.  I gave it a six for music but I really don’t remember any -so this is my standard score for when I don’t remember the music.

Dee
Cinematography  8
Script  8
Music  6
Acting  9
Story  8
Total Score  7.8

 

 

This entry was posted in: FOREIGN DRAMA & Music, Uncategorized

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

