irumeur..., Spirtuality
Comments 4

irumeur… A Muslim-American in Office

Is Obama a genius or plain crazy?  That is the question many people across the world are probably asking themselves about now.

The more we accept the more we risk – the more we risk the greater the reward.  Which of these scenarios will be at the fore front if  a Muslim-American, Abid Riaz Qureshi, is appointed to serve the  U.S.  District Court?

Jesus instructed us to love one another even as we fear -and we do fear the possibility of our country being dominated by Muslim rule.  One of the best ways to overcome fear, is to bring two people together and discover how they are each alike.  Our likenesses is the point we bond.

Bonding with our neighbors, our countrymen, our brothers and sister in life across the world is the only way to build world peace.  Yet, in doing, so we risk our way of life.

What do I mean from that?

We are a Christian nation -or at least, we were built with God as our leader and Christ as our savior.  God told the Jews not to marry women of another faith.  He said this because women have such a strong influence on the family.  If she doesn’t worship the same God, and has the same belief pattern as her husband, often the man will flip his loyalties under her influence.

It is the same with government.  As so many Americans fight to remove God from our politics, we are fighting for equality of other religions that will ultimately change the dynamics of our country’s basic principals.  Is this a bad thing?  Not always!  Can it be?  Yes!

Government officials have the difficult task of balancing between enough and too much.  When we blend our traditional beliefs with inclusion for the purposes of acceptance and brotherhood, we also teeter on a precipice of destruction.

Let’s take this gentleman’s religion out of the scenario.  He is an American citizen, practicing law in Washington (at least this is what I read.  I do not know him personally, nor have I spoken with him).  Obama believes he will serve the people with integrity and steadfast commitment to justice.

I believe this is all true -but I ask the simple question of whether this man can set his religious beliefs aside when serving & influencing the laws of our land.  If I was to be awarded this position -I would conduct myself as a Christian -not being swayed by any belief or human value other than those set by my God.  If this man is a true and solid Muslim -he will conduct himself with the same honor to his God.

If I were a Muslim, living in a country that was predominantly of the Muslim religion, and our president  was about to appoint a man/woman to a government office with this type of influence over the law, and this person was a devoted Christian -I would ask these same questions.  Alternatively, if I was a Hindus, Buddhist, or atheist, or any belief system, I was devoted to.

So let’s step a little further -those who do not want our country to be lead by Christian values have had their voices heard -as we no longer have prayer in schools, etc.  If this is the way of our land, then how can we deny the voices of the Muslims?

Not only was our country founded based upon Christian beliefs; we were also based on the diversity of people who settled here -how can we ignore a Muslim citizen as having an equal right to an office?

When John F. Kennedy ran for office, there were people who were appalled a Catholic could run our country.  The same thing happened when Mitt Romney ran -people were against a Mormon leading our nation.  One of these men entered the oval office, and the other did not.  Was our country any worse off with Kennedy being a Catholic?

How do I feel about this nomination?  I believe if a person is worthy of a position, and they are an American citizen born and raised in our great country and adhere to the integrity of our laws -they are entitled to run and accept a position they are qualified for.

Am I not afraid of a nation of people because of their religion?  No.  If I am frightened, I am fearful for my children, my daughters having their rights stolen from people who would change our nation, and our traditions.

I fear all men/women who would use their power to control and dominate men, women and children, whether Muslim or atheist (or anything in between) who denies my freedom to love my God and live as a free woman. 

These men/women frighten me, whether they are American citizens or terrorist.

This man will bring his religion to the table, there is no question in my mind (unless he is Muslim by birth and not by faith).  Either way, if he holds true to the integrity of which this nation was founded on he has as much right to hold this office as any American Citizen.

Will this action by our President be the miracle to bring Muslims and Americans together or will it be another step toward the demise of our nation?

I hope we will not be led by fear, but love as we debate this question. 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur..., Spirtuality

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

4 Comments

  1. I am a Christian. There is no way I can objectively view situations outside my worldview. As you say, it stands to reason that a Muslim will see things from that standpoint. What system of justice or law, does he believe? You have written a very good article.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. He will definitely follow the laws of the land. He cannot make up a law based on his religion. All his decisions will be lawful and based on the Constitution of the United States, not Sharia Law. I can’t say this of some Christian judges, though. A Christian judge gives a 3 moth jail time to a white rapist, while a non- white gets 25 years.

    Liked by 2 people

    • A jude who would discriminate in such a fashion is not a Christian. Unfortunately, to many people viewed as Christians or claim to be Christians -are in deed not practicing Christians. It is nice to hear many views on this matter as all views are important.

      Remember, many people label Muslims as all terrorist -I would be careful to not confuse some people as Christian just because they are white, or live in America. My hope is we will all learn to value each other no matter the color of our skin, or our race, spiritual beliefs or the country we were born in.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

