FOREIGN DRAMA & Music
Leave a Comment

Foreign Drama -The Wave

The Wave (2015 film).jpg

The Wave

105 minutes 2015 Norwegian Film

They say this film won an Academy Award for Best Foreign Film even though it wasn’t nominated.  I don’t know how that happened.

I loved this movie.  If you like catastrophe movies, like me, this is one to see.  I wouldn’t say it has the hefty detail of some American made movies, but it was well done and entertaining for its genre.

The movie is actually based on truth.  In Norway, most of the area is mountainous and rocky.  Rock slides happen like we watch for tornadoes.  They have to monitored like an earthquake and centers are dotted throughout the land to monitor this movement.  When a rock slide happens these massive stones fall into the lakes around them and can cause a tsunami.

Kristoffer Joner plays the scientist that first warns of the danger from current readings.  He could be handsome cleaned up but in this movie he looks pretty rough.  Although, he does a wonderful job.

He is most well known for his work in Villmark and The Man Who Loved Yngve.  This actor has a long list of movies over the years, and has been acting since he was 14 according to Wikipedia.  Check out the list and see if there is some more of this actor you can get in your area.

Ane Dahl Torp portrays his wife.  Her portrayal of a mother’s courage and love is brilliant.  I wonder if I would take a life to protect my child.  I believe I would, but in the moment would I?  -well, I still believe the answer is a yes.

Like Kristofer, Ane won an Amanda Award.  Her award was from her performance in the movie, Svarte penger, hvite logner.

Jonas Hoff Oftebro plays their teenage son.  Oh, he is a cutie.  You younger girls should check him out.  He was born in 1996 and has been acting since 2008.  His latest film is Borning 2.  I am unsure if we can see this on any sites like Amazon, Netflix, etc.  You’ll just have to look around.

I watched this film on Netflix.

Edith Haagenrud plays their young daughter.

This is the third film I’ve watched from this area, and I’ve loved all three.  I would be happy if more of them would become available.

  Dee
Cinematography 9
Script 9
Music 6
Acting 9
Story 9
Total Score 8.4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in: FOREIGN DRAMA & Music

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

Leave a Reply

