Nonsense
Comments 3

Just Jot It January 18

Just Jot It January 18th – Elegance

 

JJJ 2016

 

Jot -Elegance

I have always valued the beauty of an elegant woman.  As a child, I adored Audrey Hepburn, Rita Hayworth, Lauren Bacall, Betty Grable, Hedy Lamarr, Susan Hayward, Ava Gardner, Ann Sheridan, Judy Garland, Doris Day, Lucille Ball, Vivian Leigh, Jane Russell, Joan Bennett, Katherine Hepburn, Elizabeth Taylor, Betty Davis and Lana Turner.

I’m sure there are many I’ve forgotten.  Their names are not important -it is what they signified -to me.

These women were the essence of elegance.  Possibly, not off screen -but on screen -they personified all that I believed a woman was.  I dreamed of wearing long silken dresses, that slipped over my curves.  I wanted my hair to drape over my shoulders, and curl away from my face.  My shoulders cloaked with fur, and my feet adorned with heels.

I craved a floor of marble, stairways that curved over the entrance, and the finest China to serve tea, to my guest.

I would sit at the grand piano, and sing songs that would leave you mesmerized, sway across the floor like Ginger Rodgers, and step out of a pool like Esther Williams.

And, then -there was the other side of me -the one that wanted to be Debbie Reynolds in Tammy.  Tough, yet beautiful.  Capable, but innocent.  Strong, but demure.  I guess Debbie won out -because I never made it to -elegant.

Oh, I still dream of the long dresses, and elegant home -but I’m just a country girl.  I scoop up horse manure, take walks through the woods, and my clothing must be comfortable and giving.

I do have a piano, but I rarely play it.  I sing at church every Christmas -but I am not Doris Day.  I dance with my husband -although we seldom grace the floor.  My Royal Albert Old Country Roses Dinnerware Collection, sadly, spends most of the year in my China cabinet.  Company -It is a rare occasion.  Furthmore, when I step out of a pool -let’s just say, it isn’t pretty.

The elegant side of me -well, it’s chosen to hide inside of me.  With time, maybe it will peak out -like when I win the lottery.  Oops -I have to play it first.  Shucks!

This entry was posted in: Nonsense

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

3 Comments

  1. Oh Lori, I LOVE this post! 🙂
    We are sympatico here, right down to the china pattern 😉
    I’m a city girl with a rather country kinda life — elegance doesn’t come to call 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yes, Ma’am, that could’ve been my words … I always admire(d) the elegance but I never made it … and if there is to choose – no high heels for me, still go with the rubber boots … and I just love them … so what … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment