Nonsense
Comments 4

Just Jot It January 27

Just Jot It January 27th – Mendaciloquent

 

JJJ 2016Jot -Mendaciloquent

Should I lie with eloquence -and tell you, I already knew this word?  No, you say.  You don’t believe me?  Sadly, you are not mistaken.

I thought it would be fun to find some words -most of us, will not recognize.

  1. bardolatry -a humorous excessive admiration for Shakespeare.  I’m not sure I could find a use for this word.
  2. bibliopole -This is a career for me -a person who buys and sells books -especially, rare books.  Oooh, creepy.  It reminds me of that devil movie, starring Johnny Depp.  The Nineth Gate was about a book that showed you how to summon the devil.  This is not a movie I would recommend -just too creepy.
  3. bobsy-die -this is a great deal of fuss or trouble.  Cute -I think I might find a use for this one.
  4. borborygmus -now this is a word we can all relate to.  Do you ever wonder what to call the gurgling noises in your intestines?  You got it -borborygmus.
  5. blatherskite -this would be me -right now.  A person who talks to much without making a great deal of sense.  I am a blatherskite!
  6. bruxism -this is you -grinding your teeth.  Actually is an involuntary  or habitual movement, of grinding your teeth.
  7. deedy -industrious or effective.  My husband is a deedy worker.
  8. dwaal -this is so close to my twitter name -I had to bring it to the front.  A dreamy, dazed or absentminded state.  I can be found dwaal, as I sit in my office -or during a long, tedious meeting.  This word is actually S. African.
  9. lycanthropy -here is a word that every fantasy writer can use -if you write about werewolves.  Lycanthropy is the supernatural transfer of a human into a wolf.
  10. merrythought –  sounds like something ‘merry.’  It is actually a bird’s wishbone.  At thanksgiving, my girls will fight over the merrythought.
  11. orrery -I pulled this out because I am going to use it in a book.  This is the clockwork model of the solar system, or the sun, earth and moon.
  12. soul catcher -this is the medicine man who captures your soul, while you are sick, and keeps it safe for you.
  13. vidiot -This would be me! One who habitually watches television or videos is a vidiot.
  14. zoolatry -I do not have this problem -despite my love for animals.  As much as I love them -I do not worship them.
  15. zorro -I know what your thinking -everyone knows this one.  Your wrong.  This is not about the heroic Latin fighter -although I wonder if the person who first envisioned this character came up with his name from the South American fox, it originated as.

 

I got all these words from Oxford Dictionaries.

This entry was posted in: Nonsense

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

4 Comments

  1. Such an interesting list – I’m going to read my dictionary more! I particularly like number 10, it would make a great quiz question. Thanks for following my blog btw 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment