irumeur...
Comments 2

irumeur…

Just Jot It January 19th – Climate

 

JJJ 2016Jot -Climate

The environment of our earth is something most of us give little thought to.  We go through our day, living out our lives, self-absorbed in the many facets of our own existence.

We teach our children  the necessity of paying bills, throwing away our trash, cleaning up after ourselves, and what foods to eat (well, at least some do).  What we don’t teach them, as a general rule, is the vital importance of everything around them.  The snail, a blade of grass, moss,  a fly, even such small things as the bugs that live on our skin.

The earth is one large social structure -and each cell amplifies the productivity of the other.  When we consider that even the smallest blade of grass, is created by the connecting of cells -the same as a human -we are talking about a powerful system.

There is a new study by the USGS Climate Research & Development Program, stating the importance of diversity, even in our plant life.

Now, I have always fought for the environment, and our animal life, but I’d never fully considered the importance of plant life.  I’m not referring to the need of plant life, but to the importance of a multitude of plant life, in any given area.

I’ve even gone so far, as to tell my children and grandchildren, to protect the trees and moss, because they are especially vital for the production of oxygen.  That being said, I did tell them all green vegetation probably released oxygen, but I was under the impression  trees, due to size, and moss -produce the most.

Now, I am finding that my theory is off balance.  Yes, off balance.  That is what the world would be if we continue to destroy the diversity of all species of plant and animal.  It appears that moss will not produce as much oxygen, or possibly the best form of oxygen, if it does not have a variety of plant life to live with.

Wow!  So, if we continue to invade the earth with cement, cut down our trees, poison the nasty insects to annihilation and fail to take care of our depleting water -the earth will grow barren, and our oxygen will be used up.

Does this give you a reason to ponder?  Could it be -we are teaching our children how to live with other people, but failing in showing them the importance of all living, oxygen producing, plant & animal ecosystems, that are vital to their very existence?  I wonder how much good they will benefit in a lifeless world, knowing how to buy food at a grocery store, purchase tools to keep their lawns pristine, and mixing chemicals to protect their personal space from pesky bugs -if we can’t breathe -simply because we didn’t understand.  No one, took the time to teach us.

Our world is changing.  Whether that is the natural course of the earth, and we are headed toward a present-day ice age, whether the earth is slipping on its axis, and we will have a fresh line drawn across the equator or maybe it is as simple as we are careless in our guardianship, I don’t know the answer but, I think…it is time we got serious in teaching our children about the balance of life.

 

 

This entry was posted in: irumeur...

by

I am a mother of 16 children and grandchildren. Some of them are by blood and the rest by heart. I was a foster mom for a few years and the children I cared for during that time have mostly stayed with me through the years. I love to write, read, dance, paint, and play with my animals. I enjoy dressage riding and just being in the barn. My words are my gift, as they allow you to know me as I really am. Thanks for joining me on this ride of life!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

